Skip to main content

History and Board of Directors

Castle Chess Camp is a nationally renowned program of chess instruction bringing together some of the top teachers and some of the best young players in the country. The original Castle Chess Camp was started by Dr. Robert Ferguson in 1977 in Bradford, Pennsylvania. That camp ran for 29 years. In 2001 David Woolf started a second Castle Camp at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia using the same proven formula as the original Castle Chess Camp. David ran the camp in Atlanta for seven years before stepping aside. Beginning in 2008 a group of volunteers recruited by Marshall Jaffe took over and established Castle Chess, Inc., a certified non-profit – 501 c3 – registered in the state of Georgia. 

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

President and Camp Director
Jennifer Christianson
Jennifer@castlechess.org

Vice President and Assistant Camp Director
Ricardo Fiorillo
Ricardo@castlechess.org

Vice President and Camp Physician
Dr. Fun Fong
Fun@castlechess.org

Secretary and Chief Tournament Director
Scott Parker
Scott@castlechess.org

Treasurer
Grant Oen
Grant@castlechess.org

To email the entire board at once, use Board@castlechess.org. For general inquiries, use Info@castlechess.org.